Paul Merrick
An exhibition of LPs and 12″ Singles reworked by artists.
Join us for a special Super Saturday instore at RPM Music
LP Sale and Publication Launch TODAY 9:30-19:00

RPM Music
4 Old George Yard, NE1 1EZ Newcastle upon Tyne
Every Monday for the last six weeks a new batch of artist re-worked LPs have been released in RPM Music, Newcastle as part of Beyond the Goldmine Standard. Involving 59 artists and totalling a collection of 67 records, the walls and shelves of RPM Music are now brimming with an ecclectic selection of these re-imagined albums.
Whilst we might recognise certain symbolic, personal and cultural value in the presence of writing or other visible interventions on the surface of record covers, another register of value, the Goldmine Standard, sees such ‘residue’ as marring or detrimental to a record’s corresponding worth. Beyond the Goldmine Standard deems differently, and has been an invitation to think beyond such regimented classification.In the spirit of Beyond the Goldmine Standard RPM Music will be celebrating second-hand records throughout the day with drinks, nibbles and exclusive discounts on second hand vinyl from 9.30am.

From 5pm a large selection of the artist re-worked LPs will be for sale at a fixed price of £50 alongside the launch of a very limited 12″ x 12″ publication cataloguing the project.

As well as the last chance to see all the records and maybe purchase one for yourself,  there will be a special performance by artist Nicola Singh of her response to Prince and The Revolution, Around the World in a Day.

BEYOND THE GOLDMINE STANDARD: Neil Armstrong, Phil Ashcroft, Oliver Beck, Cath Campbell, Katy Cole, Tim Croft, Katie Cuddon, Gordon, Dalton, Daniel Davies, Jessica Dolby, Graham Dolphin. Jennifer Douglas, Ryan Doyle, Sarah Dunn, Graeme Durant, Mark Edwards, Lizzie Feather, Phil Frankland, Susie Green, Mark Gubb, Aaron Guy, Madeline Hall, Laura Harrington, Kate Hawkins, Joss Humberstone, Laurence Kavanagh, Nick Kennedy, Rachel Lancaster, Claire Lavender, Kate Liston, Toby Phips Lloyd, Sally Lockey, Rob Lowe, Steven Lowery, Kevin Mason, Andrew Maughan, Luke McCreadie, Paul Merrick, Rosie Morris, Michael Mulvihill, Annie O’Donnell, Oliver Perry, Theresa Poulton, Mike Pratt, Narbi Price, Christopher Rollen, Kuba Ryniewicz, Adam Shield, Jamie Shovlin, Ross Sinclair, Nicola Singh, Paul Smith, Joanne Tatham & Tom O’Sullivan, Sebastian Trend, Carl von Weiler, Craig Puranen Wilson & Lady Annabella Marczewska, Flora Whiteley, Gethin Wyn Jones